top of page
Search

Welcoming Families From Around the World

Updated: Apr 25, 2021


Madagascar


For this blog assignment I could not decide what country to pick, so I gave the globe to my students at school and told them that I needed to learn about children from another country and asked them for their help by picking a country on that globe that I could learn more about. The children were excited to help with my school work and after spinning the globe several times in agreement they picked the country of Madagascar.


While being just 250 miles (400 kilometers) from the African continent, Madagascar's population is largely tied to Indonesians, who live more than 3,000 miles (4,800 kilometers) to the east. The Malagasy people do not consider themselves to be Africans, but instead have established political, economic, and cultural ties with the French-speaking countries of western Africa as a result of the island's continued relationship with France as a result of former colonial rule (Kent, 2021).

The Malagasy economy has traditionally been dependent on paddy rice, coffee, vanilla, and cloves cultivation. Despite an abundance of natural resources and a tourist industry fueled by the country's special climate, the country remains one of the poorest in the world, relying heavily on foreign assistance.



Families from Madagascar













Madagascar is far from the tropical paradise it appears to be. It is a country where the rights of the child remain unfulfilled and incomplete. It is one of the hardest places to be a child; 3 out of 4 people live below the poverty line, over 40% of children (under the age of five) suffers from stunting, and the country has the world’s fifth highest number of out-of-school children in the world.(Save the Children, n.d.). Malagasy children are confronted by poverty every day. Based on today's statics, Madagascar is now the poorest country in the world (Humanium, n.d.)


Welcoming and receiving a family and child from this country into my classroom I will be very mindful of and culturally sensitive in all aspects in respecting where this family has come from and what experiences the family may have had. Although it might be difficult for teachers to really visualize and feel what families from other have been through, it is often these especially challenging social perspective taking tasks where it is most important to try to take the other side’s perspective.Thinking about what I have learned about the countries condition I will be so appreciative of where I live and what I have.


Being culturally sensitive is an important aspect in respecting all families. It is also vitally important in the context of education. Culturally responsive teaching is a method of imparting awareness, skills, and behaviors to students that "empowers them mentally, psychologically, morally, and politically through the use of cultural referents" (Ladson-Billings, 2014). Culturally responsive teaching also acknowledges that different heritages and languages affect students' attitudes and approaches toward learning.


Here are five ways that I can be culturally responsive to my new family.



1. Assessing my own behavior.

My first step to creating a culturally responsive classroom is being aware of my actions and working to shift into a mindset that is culturally inclusive and open-minded ones.This awareness also applies to my interactions with students’ families and their communities.

2. Getting to know my families and students.

Being proactive when it comes to learning about the different cultural backgrounds of my new family. Doing research, either online or by talking to other teaching colleagues. I would sit down with them to ask if there were any activities or traditions they enjoyed at school in their home country. I learn about experiences and build on them. This will not only help put my new student at ease, it can also breathe life into my lesson activities.


3. Make your classroom a judgment-free zone.

I will encouraging the family to voice their opinions and questions about what is happening in the world around them so that I can find ways to help them understand and overcome some of their confusing or fears about their new environment.


4. Adapt my teaching style.

It will be important for me to honestly assess my current teaching practices and modify my instruction and curriculum to consider the student's background and readiness levels. As a result, it will be critical for me to learn how to adapt my teaching strategies and techniques to accommodate my new student.


5. High Expectations

Finally, it is important to maintain strong expectations for all children. Language barriers, religious disparities, and differing views and values which exist. To avoid letting children of diverse backgrounds slip through the cracks, I would make an intentional effort to connect in these ways:

Welcome each student by name

Make eye contact with all students to show respect

Set clear expectations for behavior and learning


These strategies in preparation  for engaging with my new family can help me gain knowledge about the family and help them to feel welcomed and respected. The sharing of interests, traditions, and beliefs will help be the family adjust to the culture of this country while still respecting and honoring their culture. 


Here a video that highlights the country of Madagascar it is 1 minutes long but if you forward it there are some great pictures of the people, culture, landscape, and there is music.





References

Deschamps, H. (2021, March 10). Madagascar. Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved from https://www.britannica.com/place/Madagascar


Humanium. (n,d,). Children of Madagascar. Retrieved from https://www.humanium.org/en/madagascar/


Save the Children. (n.d.). Madagascar. Retrieved from https://www.savethechildren.org.uk/where-we-work/africa/madagascar


Travel Vibes. (n.d.) Madagascar part 2. Retrieved from https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=xbk5TO1ASlQ


23 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page